Posted by: kirstieann | September 30, 2010

In Case of Emergency

In case of an emergency, college students would be screwed. Personally, whenever a fire alarm goes off I am a bit hesitant to move quickly. It is usually because it’s either a drill or a “false alarm,” like some idiot smoking in their room.

After having the fire alarm go off 4 times in the last 3 or so weeks (3 times in the last 24 hours) it is getting rather annoying. Yesterday was the only instance of which was actually a drill. Today I walked home in the pouring rain, and although I had a rain jacket on and an umbrella, my pants were absolutely soaked through because it was raining so hard. I got to back to the dorm to find the alarm going off and had to stand outside in the rain for a ridiculous 20 minutes. When I finally came up to my room I barely had enough time to take off all my wet clothes and put on sweats before the alarm went off again.

With the pretty consistent pattern of fire alarms going off in college dorms, students start to slow down their response and evacuation time. For example, today I spent more time making sure I turned out all the lights before exiting to the sound of the second fire alarm and was less stressed about getting out quick. As I heard someone say, this is also becoming a “boy who cried wolf” kind of situation, in that when there really is an emergency or fire, less and less people will be in the habit of swiftly leaving the building or even leaving at all.

Leave a Reply

Categories

