Posted by: kirstieann | June 29, 2010

My new iPhone 4!

First off, let me just say that it is beautiful! Shiny, sleek, and thin … just as promised. Now here’s what I have to say about it:

Reception: There are all these claims of losing reception if you hold it the wrong way – I have a couple responses to this: A. Who awkwardly holds it by the bottom anyways? I usually hold it closer to center to be more stable, and because I do so, I don’t need a to use death grip, just a gentle cradle; B. I’ve had 3G turned off since I’ve gotten it and haven’t had problems…just a thought.
Update: So I’m now trying the new phone with 3G enabled for the next week (to compare). I was laying in bed and noticed the problem w/o even intentionally trying to block the antenna. I see the problem, but I don’t think I would take it as far as these people because it’s not a problem for me about 90% of the time.

Multitasking: I haven’t really played around with it much, though I did try having Pandora on play while using other features. It worked, so as long as it works in my car while I use Google maps I’m happy. The only problem annoyance I’ve found with multitasking and fast-app switching is always having to delete apps from the multitasking menu.

Folders: I got this feature on my 3G before launch day so I had a chance to try it out before I got the new phone. I like that it keep things more organized so I don’t have 5 pages of apps, and once I got the hang of it it was fairly easy to remember which folders all of my apps were in.

Mailbox: I like having all my email in one mailbox, but I hate that with Gmail accounts I no longer have the option of deleting messages. I rarely used the archive feature for my account on my computer, and have no reason to archive all the silly subscriptions I get. I just want to be able to delete my emails on my phone!

Hardware: I’m definitely a fan of the stainless steel band; the buttons feel nice and I like that the volume buttons are separate. I feel like it won’t chip off like the plastic of my 3G’s dock connection did.

Cameras: I’ll admit, I only briefly opened the camera app just to see if both cameras worked. I haven’t used FaceTime or the flash yet, but that’s because I still have the protective plastic on…which brings me to my next point…

There are no cases or protective films yet for the iPhone 4. I could order one from some random website, but I’d prefer to get one right off the apple website so I know it fits properly. And no, I will not invest $30 in a stupid bumper. Now that the iPhone has a glass back and front I’m even more worried about protecting it from scratches and breaking.

Comparisons to my iPhone 3G: I’ve noticed a few things: 1. I think the battery life is now better; 2. Many may not have noticed, but the iPhone font has changed. This affects anywhere where typing is involved, such as emails, texts, etc. I had no problems with the old font, but I like the new one better: it’s thinner and easier/quicker to read.

Other notes: 1. I think I will enjoy the ability to create playlists in the ipod app; 2. I wish the screen lock worked in landscape mode; 3. I haven’t changed the wallpaper yet – I like the default water droplets 🙂

All in all, I think it was worth the 3 hr 45 min wait on launch morning.

N.B. I am also in the market for a new Bluetooth. I bought my Apple brand one 2 years ago when I bought my 3G. It’s worked fine cause I only need something simple, but the earpiece has recently started to fall apart. I just need a small & simple one, any recommendations?

Leave a Reply

Categories

